akcampbell said:
Joomla! is a US trademark, registration number 3479210, it was filed 5 months before you registered the domain on 9 July 2007, published for opposition on 20 May 08, and registered on 5 Aug 08.
So the trademark was registered
after the domain was purchased, isn't that a good thing? Plus do a search of domains with the word Joomla in them, you'll find tens of thousands, if not more. The domain was registered on the 15th of November 2007, almost a year before the tm was finally registered. But even these dates are meaningless, which will be apparent from -
And what little I know of tm law states that a tm holder must enforce his tm to have any chance of defending the tm, in fact, as an open source project, it has done the opposite -
The project, when it was launched, encouraged the use of of Joomla in your domain names, coz at the time they needed to wean people away from the mambo brand. Kind of tough to turn back the clock now, and that too for one domain
Even now i personally know off and use at least 50 major sites and businesses who use the word Joomla in the domain itself.
- joomlart.com
- joomlashack.com
- joomlaxtreme.com
- joomlatutorials.com (belongs to brad baker, a joomla core member and forum leader)
- joomla-templates.com
- joomladesigns.co.uk
- bestofjoomla.com
- joomlaweb.com
- joomla-themes.co.uk
- howtojoomla.net
- design-joomla.eu
- joomla.at
- joomla24.com
- joomlazone.net
- youjoomla.com
- joomla-addons.org
I could go on all day if need be.
In fact, here are the domains for sale on sedo with the word Joomla in it -
http://www.sedo.com/search/searchre...nguage=us&search_type=advanced&keyword=joomla
549, for those unwilling to look
akcampbell said:
Somebody is willing to gamble 600 Euros on a .pro that they could lose if the trademark registrant Open Media Source Inc filed a UDRP claim.
1. The tm is owned by Open Source Matters, Inc. - don't know where you get your registrant name from. Their site is still viewable at
http://www.opensourcematters.org which is not really a company but a front for the core team of this open source project - "Open Source Matters, Inc. (OSM) is a not-for-profit formed under United States law and exists to provide organizational, legal and financial support for the Joomla! open-source project. OSM has been incorporated as a New York not-for-profit to ensure the Joomla! project and future projects continue to exist beyond the participation of individual volunteers, to enable contributions of intellectual property and funds while providing a vehicle for limiting legal exposure for projects."
Doubtful that OSM would file a case, even less likely they are the bidder. Specially when they had given most people a 48 hour 'pre-registration' notice to book the same joomla*.tld name for themselves if they were using the mambo*.tld name for their website.
2. No one is risking anything by bidding/buying this domain except the chance that
they would be looked upon as leaders in Joomla worldwide. :D
3. The only reason why someone would even begin to say stuff like this is to try and create fear in the mind of potential bidders and get the domain cheaply for themselves. :lol: Nice try there.
