Spam, Scam, or legit?

SpaceshipSpaceship
Watch

Terry

Established Member
Impact
2
I received the following letter. This is the second one that I have received. Is this a real buyer?

Hi, I saw your domain listed for sale. Is it still available for sale? Have you received any bids from other buyers? If it's still available for sale please email me your asking price. If you have other good domains for sale feel free to email me the full list with asking prices. If I can afford your domain I will contact you. Please don't send me multiple emails if you don't receive a reply from me and keep my email address confidential. Just email me your asking price. If I decide to buy I will contact you as soon as possible. I run a software development company. We provide custom software development in Linux, Windows XP, MS Access, MS SQL, PHP and Delphi for our clients in USA, Hong Kong, UK and Switzerland. Selling & buying names is not my main business. Just another way to invest free money and make some income. Kindest regards, Mxxxxxx Sxxxxxxx CEO xxxx, xxxx​

Thanks you for your input.
 
0
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
AfternicAfternic
Spam / scam, IMHO.
Is there an E-mail address associated with this from any of the known, previously discussed scammers? Which software development company does the guy run, and did he provide a home "link"? :blink:

Just my two initial sense.
:wave:
 
0
•••
0
•••
0
•••
Thanks for the links. Is there a place here where these spam/scam letters are kept so we can compare them with what we are receiving?
 
0
•••
Doh! :o

** SCAM ALERT **
 
0
•••
A spammer/scammer. I recieve several mails from him.
 
0
•••
But it's always "fun" to play with them... :lol:

why don't you reply and ask for $1500??
Could be fun to read the answer(s).....
 
0
•••
Lol, i did :) and got replies from him. I will post it her if i find it in my inbox.
 
0
•••
Hi there,

Have found your name listed for sale.

Is this domain still available for sale? Have you received any bids
from other buyers?

If it's still available for sale please email me your asking price.

If you have other good domains for sale feel free to email me the full
list with asking prices.

If I can afford your domain I will contact you. Please don't send me
multiple emails if you don't receive a reply from me and keep my email
address confidential.
Just email me your asking price. If I decide to buy I will contact you
as soon as possible.

I run a software development company. We provide custom software
development in Linux, Windows XP, MS Access, MS SQL, PHP and Delphi for our
clients in USA, Hong Kong, UK and Switzerland. Selling & buying names is
not my main business. Just another way to invest free money and make
some income.

Kindest regards,

Mark Miller

CEO

MCSE, MCSD
===============
I know he is a spammer, but it was fun to get replies from him: so i sent a mail like this:

hi mark, the domain streetplayer.com recieves 50 uniques per day. I accept only wiretransfer. My asking price is 1000$. I wont reduce any amount in this. This is my final sales price. If you are interested , pls contact me. Dont reply if you are intending to negotiate.

Thanks.,
sarathy.s
==================================
His Reply:
1000. Ok.

Is it a developed site or just a domain name? We are mostly interested in domains without web content.

We need an appraisal for domains priced in your range.

Our partners (webmasters and domain owners) always recommend us to verify an independent appraisal first. It would be fair for both of us.

Do you have an appraisal certificate for your name? Please note that we don't trust free or unprofessional appraisals. It can be an appraisal certificate from www.FastDomainSales.com or www.GreatDomains.com or www.HollywoodDomains.com. It does not matter because they were recommended to me by experienced experts.

After we receive your appraisal we'll continue negotiations.

How do you prefer to get paid: PayPal, check or wire?

Looking forward to your reply.

Best regards,

Mark Miller

CEO

MCSD, MSCE
======================================
After some days, He again sent the same mail:

Hi there,

Sorry for possible double posting. I had some problems with my email
address.

Have found your name listed for sale.

Is this domain still available for sale? Have you received any bids
from other buyers?

If it's still available for sale please email me your asking price.

If you have other good domains for sale feel free to email me the full
list with asking prices.

If I can afford your domain I will contact you. Please don't send me
multiple emails if you don't receive a reply from me and keep my email
address confidential.
Just email me your asking price. If I decide to buy I will contact you
as soon as possible.

I run a software development company. We provide custom software
development in Linux, Windows XP, MS Access, MS SQL, PHP and Delphi for our
clients in USA, Hong Kong, UK and Switzerland. Selling & buying names is
not my main business. Just another way to invest free money and make
some income.

Kindest regards,

Mark Miller

CEO

MCSE, MCSD

===========================================
My reply:

Sorry, I wont do any appraisal. The buyer always knows the correct value. If interested purchase it.

Regards.,
sarathy.s
============================================
His reply:

You ask for serious money and provide no proof.



I understand you, but usually sellers provide buyers with appraisals. It's a common practice. Independent appraisers are involved in any serious purchase. It's a good practice to do business because nobody is going to lose money.
--------------------------
I stopped sending him mails after that :D

He also sent the same spam mail to my other domain.
 
0
•••
^^ :bah:

Unbelievable, these types! :o

Thanks for all the updates and warnings here, folks.
:wave:
 
0
•••
suthra,

One more reply might have been in order. Something like:

Appraisals are really of little value. For instance, Direct V .com might not appraise very well. But, what do you think DirecTV.com is worth to the end user? If you do not know what you are buying the domain for, and what the value of a given name is to you - DONT' BUY IT.
 
0
•••
Thanks for the warning.
 
0
•••
After their first email, I like unbalancing them with a reply along these lines:

I don't know how much to ask for my domain, but I think its worth a lot. Just so I don't sell too low, I need an appraisal before selling my domain.

Our partners (webmasters and domain owners) always recommend us to verify an independent appraisal first. It would be fair for both of us.

Do you have an appraisal certificate for my name? Please note that we don't trust free or unprofessional appraisals. It can be an appraisal certificate from www.FastDomainSales.com or www.GreatDomains.com or www.HollywoodDomains.com. It does not matter because they were recommended to me by experienced experts.

:lol: This was someone else's idea. I just copied it.
 
0
•••
Nice one... :lol:

Have you tried it? Any reply?
 
0
•••
Email the people and try to buy there domains.
 
0
•••
perhaps you can post the header information privately to Apollo or RJ or Wave and let them find the IP addy of the sender so as to bloack themvia the .htaaccess folder :)

food for thought.
 
0
•••
Dynadot — .com TransferDynadot — .com Transfer
Appraise.net

We're social

Escrow.com
Spaceship
Rexus Domain
CryptoExchange.com
Domain Recover
CatchDoms
DomDB
NameFit
  • The sidebar remains visible by scrolling at a speed relative to the page’s height.
Back