NameSilo

Reseller Rights Myth

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
I've noticed more and more of these types of threads and you see them on ebay everyday so I thought I would put this out there. When buying these package deals with loads of scripts and designs they generally they say something along the lines of "You have resell rights!" or whatever. Well just like any other too good to be true deal make sure you read the fine print. In alot of cases there won't be any fine print. Here's the fine print so you all know.

[SIZE=-2]"You obtain the rights to sell the "packaged" material and information."[/SIZE]

Laymen's terms:
If you package the material on Disc or CD then you have the rights to sell the information as you are charging for the packaging and materials.

I'm no lawyer but sending someone to a link where the information can be downloaded isn't packaging or material. I guess the argument could be made that everything is bundled up and you have space and bandwidth costs but I would consider in my pricing any future legal fees to make this argument.

If you really think about it. Did that person really design all 10,000 of those designs and write every word of those 20,000 ebooks? No, so how could this person give you rights to something they have no rights to?

Feel free to post your thoughts on the matter and it would be nice if a legal expert got in on this topic.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
"packaged" is ambiguous.. and an argument can be made that a link to a zipped file constitutes a packaged item IMO.

I suspect each package would have to be taken on a case by case basis.. many specifically state the packaged elements cannot be sold or offered separately, some do not... always check the appropriate documentation before reoffering the itme for sale

•••