Dynadot

Random questions from a complete newbie.

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Alright, I used to create usernames on MMORPGs and other games and stuff, and then sell them for a couple dollars, and figured...why not try selling domains. Several times of random web adress searching have I have come across "The domain is for sale!" and I've decided I want to try it. Now, I know pretty much nothing about web hosting/domain buying...so I need alot of help to get started.

1. Where do i buy them? And when I buy one, do I own it forever or for a limited time?
2. How exactly do i go about selling them? Whats all the information I'm gonna need for potential buyers?
3. How do you transfer the domain to them once they have paid?
4. If you don't count outliers (I probally spelt that wrong. But I mean numbers that are extremely low) whats the average amount they sell for?
5. Anything else I should know before I start going off and buying domains?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
1. Domain registrars such as GoDaddy or even NamePros own service.
2. Auction them on here, ebay, Sedo, Domain Sponsor.....
3. GoDaddy offers a free transfer to another godaddy account
4. Really does depend. On the whole Reg fee if your lucky ;) you gotta pick the gems and hope they sell for more than reg fee. Research the available domains and then buy what you think will sell - i.e. Experience!
5. Look around to see what people have paid good money for! Look to get domains listed on DMOZ as they sell for more. Domains with traffic are also valuable. Whilst you build a portfolio think about parking them for revenue such as sedo or domain sponsor.

•••
•••
snoopi said:
What is "MMORPGs" ?
Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game.

And brp, you named all kinds of things, but you didnt name the web adresses for them. And I'm guessing godaddy would be the easiest since it lets you switch? Whats the reg fee on that site?

•••
•••