IT.COM

PrimeRateBlog.com Vs PrimeRate.com

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
When I saw PrimeRate.com sell for $110,000.00 I registered the domain name PrimeRateBlog.com.

So I did not think this was an infringment or I would not have registered the name. It seemed to me that "PrimeRate" is not the name of a business or company,or a product. Now I am afraid that I might have trouble selling the name PrimeRateBlog.com or that I might be infringing on their name.

Suggestions, comments, or ideas on this one?

meljr

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Although I'm no lawyer, I'm pretty sure you are on solid ground. "Prime rate" is a generic financial term. Here's the definition:

The Prime Interest Rate is the interest rate charged by banks to their most creditworthy customers (usually the most prominent and stable business customers). The rate is almost always the same amongst major banks. Adjustments to the prime rate are made by banks at the same time; although, the prime rate does not adjust on any regular basis. The rates reported below are based upon the prime rates on the first day of each respective month. (Source: Moneycafe.com)

•••
Actually, the definition has nothing to do with TM law. The correct answer is there is a registered TM for prime rate in the field of hotel reservations. Though generic in nature, if the OP used the domain in this field, there could be a challenge.

So, using he logic from spikodo, windows is not a TM either, right???? Here is the definition I found...

win·dow ( P ) Pronunciation Key (wnd)
n.

An opening constructed in a wall or roof that functions to admit light or air to an enclosure and is often framed and spanned with glass mounted to permit opening and closing.
A framework enclosing a pane of glass for such an opening; a sash.
A pane of glass or similar material enclosed in such a framework.

An opening that resembles a window in function or appearance.