Domain Empire

GoFatty.com: an Infringment?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Thinking about ownership possibilities on GoDaddy's name or others.
What would be considered an infringment?
How about GoLaddy, GoFatty, GoFather, GoMommie or such?
Is it the "Go" or the "Daddy" or Both, or some combination that belongs to them?
There is a site call GoFatty.com, why isn't that a infringment or is it?
http://www.gofatty.com

I'm not a lawyer, but I was just thinking about it.

meljr

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Note: This post contains my opinion and logic. It in no way is a legal representation.

Registering a domain that contains the words 'GoDaddy' when GoDaddy is a registered trademark instantly means that you are using someone elses name without permission. Sad, but true. But then come to think of it, what potential use would you ever have to register a domain that contains someone elses trademark?

The key part here, in my opinion, are the words "without permission". You can potentially get away with using a domain name that has a reference to company, providing you ask first and state that the content on the site is in no way linked to the original named company. Say for example you have Cpanel hosting, and want to start a site called CpanelFAQS.com - I'm sure they'd be more than happy to let you own that without any problems, providing you clearly state that it has nothing to do with Cpanel at all.
Is Cpanel even a registered trademark?

Then I think we have another issue of how common the names involved in the domain are. Example: Go Daddy is a pretty unique combination of words, is it not? You're hardly likely to EVER use those combination of words, in that order, unless you're referencing the company itself. How often do you say "Go Daddy!" to your father? Exactly, not very often.