IT.COM

McAfee - The Battle Begins

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
As many of you may already know, I am the owner and creator of Even Over Here™. A couple of days ago I was informed by an online acquaintance (Halo Jones from NamePros.com, owner of CharityDomains.co.uk) that McAfee’s SiteAdvisor.com has a negative report of the security of EvenOverHere.com. As a qualified security professional, I can assure you that the website is 100% free of malicious content. According to McAfee’s report, EvenOverHere.com contains links to New.net and DomainSponsor.com. The malicious report is based solely on the claim that New.net is distributing malware. After some research, it appears as though New.net is malware free. Most importantly, the links from EvenOverHere.com to New.net and DomainSponsor.com do not exist. McAfee’s claims are quite obviously either unfounded or extremely outdated. The only logical conlusion I was able to reach was that the previous owner(s) had the domain name parked (sometime in 2006) with DomainSponsor, with an advertisement from New.net displayed.

The following email was sent to McAfee to dispute the listing:

Name: Matt Tanenbaum

Email: matt [at] mattpress.com

Subject: EvenOverHere.com

What is the URL you are appealing?: Even Over Here!

Type of Inquiry: Re-Test Request

What facet would you like to appeal?: Links

Is site owner?: Yes

Comments: EvenOverHere.com is a legitimate business with absolutely no affiliation to the unsafe website(s) stated. Additionally, the websites posted in your rating of EvenOverHere.com do not appear to be malicious. Your inaccurate listing of EvenOverHere.com has resulted in negative publicity and loss of business. Please remove the unfounded claim of unsafe content on EvenOverHere.com immediately to avoid our pursuit of legal action.

The following response was received at 2:30am (central time) the following day:

Hello Tanenbaum,