Dynadot

Is .to TLD good?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

ChanakyaSahu

Established Member
Impact
I am a newbie in domaining, so don't laugh at me if this is a stupid question 😅

I have discovered a domain name that is valuable but it is available in .to extension. I am really confused about .to extensions. People say that .to extensions doesn't rank well internationally but I have seen Dev.to (a community of developers), Zoro.to and Goku.to sites that have over a million users worldwide and not just limited to the "Kingdom of Tongo" (.to ccTLD). I am really attracted to this extension and want to invest in it.

If I invest in a one word or 3-5L domain (the one's that makes sense and has value in the market), Will it be a good investment?

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Solution
I don't see why .to wouldn't rank as well as any other commercialized ccTLD like .co or .io.

But one issue I notice straight away is that they're not supported by either Porkbun or Godaddy. You can't register a .to-domain there, and it's not available in the GoDaddy auction-filter. But namebio does have a few recent .to sales through other avenues.

Anyway, this will significantly limit the value of .to if you intend to register it to sell it. But maybe it will open up in the near future? I could definitely see a witty play on the word "to" like "go.to", "move.to", or "travel.to" sell for $X,XXX (or maybe even higher in the future). But that's the extent of the value I see in it.

If you have a good name in mind and the registration...
I don't see why .to wouldn't rank as well as any other commercialized ccTLD like .co or .io.

But one issue I notice straight away is that they're not supported by either Porkbun or Godaddy. You can't register a .to-domain there, and it's not available in the GoDaddy auction-filter. But namebio does have a few recent .to sales through other avenues.