IT.COM

discuss Inheritance in domain name?

NameSilo
Watch
Impact
Suppose I own a domain name, which may be really valuable.
However, if something happens to me, is it possible for my kids to inherit the domain name?

I mean, what if they don't know that I own such a valuable name, since they do not know the domain name industry as a whole.

Who takes care of the domain name, after me? If they do not know, they can't renew and a decent property may expire. I have read stories of certain good domainers, helping the family of deceased, get the domain name transferred. But these were exceptional cases.

How does this whole thing work in general?
Has anyone been able to solve this yet?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I'm no lawyer or estate planner, but I would say:

Put it in your will (along with the relevant details for accessing it).

& keep it renewed for many years (should be standard for any truly valuable domains).

You could also write up a document explaining what to do with the domain, why it's valuable, how much it's worth, how and where to sell it, etc.

Last edited:
•••
Appoint someone to transfer (posthumous) the domains into your pre-prepared kids' domain accounts.

•••
I'm no lawyer or estate planner, but I would say:

Put it in your will (along with the relevant details for accessing it).

& keep it renewed for many years (should be standard for any truly valuable domains).

You could also write up a document explaining what to do with the domain, why it's valuable, how much it's worth, how and where to sell it, etc.
Do we have stories around this where someone lost their domains?

Any other way? More inputs on this?

•••
interesting subject never thought about it thanks for bringing it up

•••