Dynadot

question I Purchased Some .NYCs; Bad Idea?

NameSilo
Watch

Joe K

Impact
First off, I'm totally new to domaining. Read about the new .NYC domain extension on a subway billboard. Sounded like a good idea, so I bought 11 domains:

aww.nyc
slay.nyc
exposed.nyc
freaky.nyc
gonewild.nyc
kng.nyc
lanes.nyc
meats.nyc
metals.nyc
rofl.nyc
sasabune.nyc

How'd I do? Will I be able to make back the $275?

Thanks!
Joe

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Probably not in the next few years, while you may get lucky I wouldn't wanna bet on it ... those $275 would be better spent on buying 1 quad premium LLLL here on forums you would have better chance of reselling or holding for a few years as renewals wouldn't cost you as much.

•••
Did you wonder why they were available?

•••
Would put that money elsewhere if I were you. Guess you won't make a profit on those but it's no given rule that you wont, weird sales happens everyday. The advice from @FusionSpy is something I would rather take into account and maybe grace delete those if it's still possible.

•••
That's a stupid question. It is proven that even a new reg domain can be sold at a good price like 1k more than the initial investment.

Back to OP, no you will not get your money back based on the current market. Who knows, you may sell only one of them and cover the initial investment.
Good luck

•••
That's a stupid question. It is proven that even a new reg domain can be sold at a good price like 1k more than the initial investment.

Back to OP, no you will not get your money back based on the current market. Who knows, you may sell only one of them and cover the initial investment.
Good luck

Too subtle for you was it?

•••
If you start seeing more .NYC domains around town (as it's restricted), that's when I can say you will make your $275 back.

You could potentially make it back now with 1 sale, but I wouldn't at this point. They'd be a hold.