IT.COM

advice How to evaluate a domain name in an auction?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Southtexas81

Established Member
Impact
I want to know what do you look for when considering bidding on a name at an auction.

How do you determine if it's valuable?

I keep hearing don't trust the online apprasal tools like Godaddy and Estibot etc. so how do you know its worth?

What is your max bid in % to keep you from not going broke?

What is your investing strategy to stay in the game ?

I also hear most domainers go broke.... I have a hard time understanding this one if you are being careful and selective. If i were to bid on a name everytime that has an estimate value of $5k and I hypothetically never invest more than 20% to try and get it how could you possibly lose money even if it sells in 5 to 10 years? You guys say all the time that buying domains is like buying realestate but without a mortgage but yall act like yall starving to survive.

I'm an investor but i'm new to domaining . After I bought my first premium name for a website at a retail price i quickly became interested on how to make profit from this.

My assessment is that if one were to buy a few names spread out long term for 10% - 20% and hold on to them for 10 + years allowing them to appreciate in value then why not wait 10 to 20 years before selling them?

Just my questions and thoughts.

If i were to drop $10k today on going to the auctions and trying to pick up 20 names with value above 4k or 5k each then I personally would hold on to them for 5 or 10 years and see how they appreciate in value before selling in my opinion but is that a good option for someone who isn't trying to do this for a living but more for a longterm investment.

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I keep hearing don't trust the online apprasal tools like Godaddy and Estibot etc. so how do you know its worth?