IT.COM

How I learned to develop websites

NameSilo
Watch

Col South

Established Member
Impact
While I'm new to domaining I'm not new to developing websites, which is something I see a lot of rudimentary questions being asked about. It seems like development is a nice skill to have as a domainer but it also seems like only a very select few have cracked it. Maybe people get lost because they don't know where to begin. Maybe they just don't want to invest the time in themselves. I decided to do a little write up outlining my web development journey and experiences. Hopefully it can open the door to web development for you. This one is for the people know literally don't know where to start.

I can't remember exactly how it came about but when I was about 14 my parents had their roof resurfaced and I ended up making a website for the roofer. At this point I had only dabbled in HTML, CSS, a little PHP. I had very little web development experience but I was very eager and knew it was something I wanted to do. The website I built was pretty basic but it had a nice graphical layout with multiple pages and I build a little admin login area where the client could edit some basic things such as blocks of text that are on the pages of his website, the email address that the contact form went to, etc. I was paid £250 for the job, which was great.

Fast forward to now over 10 years later. I studied IT at college and Software Engineering at University, gaining a 1st class honours degree. I've had 5 industry jobs in web development / software engineering (3 of my 5 jobs have been predominantly web development). I've worked as a freelance web developer for a number of clients including one medium sized commercial contract for mid £X,XXX and some medium-high profile musicians / artists. I'm now employed as a research assistant at a University, developing a central database to support their research. The database's interface is... you guessed is... web development.