Domain Empire

How do services like Pool and Dynadot gather dropping domains?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

tommedema

Established Member
Impact
My question is simple so it doesn't require much elaboration: how do services like pool and dynadot gather dropping domains?

I'm a developer and like to work with big data. Having googled for "how to find dropping domain names" I only see countless of websites saying how to use services like Pool and Dynadot.

However, how do these services find the dropping domains? I'd like to replicate the infrastructure necessary to do so, but face a number of issues. For example, when quering whois servers like those of internic, the returned "expiration date" is not the actual date at which the domain is expired by the intermediary registrar, and therefore this date is not reliable. Yet services like Pool.com manage to do it.

Also, are their lists complete / comprehensive or do they only represent a small portion of actually dropping (.com) domains?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
For the generic extensions like .com, the registrars get lists from the registries. But you could compile your own from the zone files, they would be 99.5% accurate. Catching the domains as soon as they are deleted is the difficult part, and there is heavy competition.

If you want to do serious dropcatching you need to control or have deals with a lot of registrars, that have direct connections to the registry. Reaction time is measured in milliseconds.

The whois output from Internet is always delayed by 5 minutes or something, it's not a real-time source. The registrar have direct access to the registry DB, they don't use whois to determine availability.

•••