Dynadot

question How Critical is Spam Score in your Domain Name Valuation?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

m1zz

Established Member
Impact
Hey all,

This question bugs me for a while now, because I'm seeing 5-6 figure sales of domain names that have a Spam Score of 50-80% which is ridiculous!

I'm a web developer/SEO guy so I know Google quite well.. Are those sales happening simply because the buyers are not aware of this factor? or maybe this isn't even a factor when domain investing??

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
As a domain investor, spam score is not really even something on my radar.

I just buy domains that are likely to appeal to end users.

Brad

•••
In two words, will say how “Spam score” to me:

More “Psuedostats”… End Quote.

Keep overthinking;

Worst is when these “Psuedostats” (ex: “DA”) are used to justify horrible names. Not my tea. Subjective business and some stats cant help. Everyone has a different “formula” for valuation

Can see the min. negligible, they play with me
and i further echo @bmugford’s sentiment

Samer

Last edited:
•••
@m1zz times have changed unless your content is original and unique you will never rank 100 DA and 100 DR or 0 DA and 0 DR

content is king with SEO

Last edited:
•••
The end user (or at least some of them) will want a domain name with the most optimal conditions to be pushed to first page on Google.

The spam score is critical in a sense, because if it's higher then 10, your on Google's radar, higher than 25 you can forget about first page (unless you have about a gazilion backlinks from strong domains like forbes....)

I may be looking too much into it, but i guess there maybe end users that have different intents (and not necessarily to push the purchased domain to Google's first page)?

This is where you and i’s definition of
“end-users”, differ. you think the “Psuedostats” back FanTokens com valuation for 3M sale?