IT.COM

question High-stake domain that might be wanted by a large company

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

matt78

Impact
Hi Namepros members!

I'm a total newbie, just registered today after reading up as a visitor for the past few days. I have never done domaining and am more a dev (and business person) by trade.

I have a domain (I won't put the exact name as you never know, if I follow correctly here the discussions, showing positive intent to sell could be seen as negative if they claim my domain and try to sue, and I'd rather they think I'm not in a selling mode, good for negos:)

so here are the elements summing up the situation:
  • I bought this domain in 2015 for an actual business project.I developed it a bunch, so there's content images and many pages but then i gave up moving to other dev projects, and the website well ...it survived lived like that and is still here with no update for the past couple of years.
  • it's a .io domain
  • it's a 5 letter name
  • it's not a nonsense word like btagex but an actual english word , it has a meaning.
  • this word actually is part of many western countries culture and people usually know the word , pronounced in different western languages about the same, so all in all a very good domain name IMO
  • the website has real content
  • the domain name is totally in line with the content i had put , that's why i had chosen this domain name, it had a meaning for my project
  • recently an agency playing the intermediary contacted me and asked me if I'd sell the website, they made several offers who started very low ($xxx) and are not a bit bigger ($xxxx)
  • I checked and I highly suspect that they're working for a 10 Billion+ revenue company who created an open-source tech with the same name around 2018 (so 3 years after my own domain name registering) and would like to secure the product name website.
  • this company is a B2B company