domains Good luck finding a name for your new company

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

equity78

Top Member
TheDomains Staff
TLDInvestors.com
Impact
The number of trademarks has been climbing steadily over the past decade, according to the World Intellectual Property Organization. That is making it harder and harder for businesses to find a name that hasn’t been taken by another company.

So companies are having to get creative. Some companies are getting around the shortage of names by using creative spellings. Think “Lyft.” And company names have to be versatile, so they work as a website domain and on social media.

Click the audio player above to hear the full story.

https://www.marketplace.org/2020/05/25/company-names-trademarks-intellecutal-property/

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
•••
•••
Very interesting read, I appreciate the info NickB.
I’m just getting started in domaining and the topic title seemed a bit click baity.

•••
Very interesting read, I appreciate the info NickB.
I’m just getting started in domaining and the topic title seemed a bit click baity.
It wasn't a click bait title, he just posted what marketplace.org put on their site - it was an interesting listen

My post was meant to be an attempt at tongue in cheek humour :xf.smile: (might have failed on that)

•••
Totally my bad, I’ll admit I didn’t click the link yet to listen. Internet humor is funny sometimes lol

•••
At some point either trademarks will be devaluedor ignored as mpre people have a right to own a website and this a website addresses irrespective of trademarks

Or

Trademarks will overide a persons right to own a website and thus a websote address which means not everyone will be able to have a website address which means the very existance of trademarks will be challenged as more ppeople will have to build their brands on facebook and google owned websites but either way the value of domain names wil soar