Domain Empire

Freelancers: How Should I Handle This Issue?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
I really need anyone's advice right now. I'm sorry this is a bit long, please bear with me. I really appreciate it!

I am a freelance web designer and before I begin with a new client, I make them sign a short contract. The payment is divided into phases of development and it includes an initial fee. Last year I was hired by a company to do their small company website. I charged them $1000, with an initial payment of 30%. The contract indicated that I would only start as soon as I received the first payment.

A month after signing the contract, the client sent me an email asking me if I had completed the work. I told them that they hadn't made payment so I didn't even begin. They paid almost immediately after that.

The company is owned by a family friend, but I don't communicate with the owner of the company. Instead, I deal with their marketing manager. From day 1 she hated me. She said "well, I was going to make one of my friends from [Eastern Europe] do this website but since you're chums with the boss, I can't really do anything about that. I just ought to let you know that I will be treating you like anybody else so don't expect any sort of special treatment from me."

Anyway, that was all last year. She was extremely difficult to work with. For example, I normally require feedback after each development phase. I asked for feedback after I completed a set of mockups and her response was "well, that's what we're hiring you for so why ask me?" This sort of attitude was extremely negative and nonconstructive. At some point, I continued and after the website was done, I asked for her final feedback or comments via email and she never responded.