NameSilo

Domain newbie with questions....help please

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I am new to domains. I know the definition of one and that is about it. My questions are:

Is there a place to register domain names for free or a low fee?

Can you make money off of owning domain names? for ex. selling them?

What all can you do with domain names?

I know these ?'s seem pretty lame, but for me they have meaning....I am interested in learning about this area and I notice in the forums there is a lot of topics on domains....ex. domain appraisals, for sale, etc....So I just need any info about domains you can offer. Thanks in advance for any and all help,input, or advice!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Domains are never free....well...except way back when .infos were.

Cheapest I have found has been namecheap.com though. $8.88

Maybe others here know cheaper but I dont.

Good Luck..

•••
Yes there are places with Free or Low Priced Domains
for example
.tk , cjb.net (freebies)
.info Cheap
ALL depends on what Domain Name Ext. or TLd you are happy with
.com is still the Most popular and are avail. for <$10 at many Registrars / Resellers
Number one thing to keep in Mind.
It is a lot easier to Buy a lousy name
than it is to sell it.

•••

No, they're not free. Except what maxima just noted above. The lowest offer I saw till now is at Netfirms. ($4.95/yr domains)

Yes, If the domains are worth the money. Short, meaningful, easy-to-remember and type, many factors can make up the value of your domain. If it happens to have a value you can find a good potential in selling it.

You can develop a website, start getting traffic and has something like Adsense to generate revenue off your site.

You can sell the domain name or park it and make revenu based on clicks through your domain.

You can showcase your own company on the web.

If you have more specific questions, let us know.
Good luck.

•••