Dynadot

advice Domain Leasing Pitfalls?

NameSilo
Watch
Hi there,

I am interested in leasing a domain (with fixed buy out price if ever I decide to own it) and I have never done this before but it seems to just make sense since I am not a 100% sure how dedicated I will be to the project I am going to put on this domain and it's sadly the only "available" and reasonable priced domain that makes perfect sense for what I am trying to do.

So I was wondering how safe leasing domains really is? It would be thru a domain martketplace that offers the domain leasing but the domain is owned by an individual. Anyone experience with this?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I have no experience in this area but, I'll say this: If you keep your end of the deal, you should see no problems.

You've been here longer than me, so, you know that domineers only really have 3 options; Sell, Park, Develop.

So, If you pay the price, I don't see what a domain owner would gain from screwing you over. Maybe he'll get an irrefutable offer ofc, but, that's fairly unlikely. I'm sure he'd notify you in such a situation as well.

Since you said the marketplace offers leasing, I'm sure they'll have some sort of legally binding evidence for you as well. In case things do go sour.

Good luck! I hope you go forward with it, I'd love to see leasing become more popular.

•••
•••
Would like to know about this as well. I'm looking into leasing out my domains in the future after I get some more perspectives.

I tried to contact someone from Goforthe.com but unfortunately they're not accepting any more contracts and suggested Escrow instead as they also help with leasing option (what I was told). I haven't made any contact with Escrow about this.

Curiously, I thought they're affiliated with each other, apparently not anymore.

•••