Dynadot

discuss Does ACPA apply outside the US? Risk assessment

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

NXDomains

Established Member
Impact
Hi guys,

This is my first post on Namepros, I have been lurking for quite some time and I must say this is a fantastic forum with very kind and interesting members! I am a beginner domainer and hope to be able to add contributions of my own in due time.

I'm based in the UK. I haven't sold any domains yet as this is a new business for me and I am very analytical. I have spent many hours reading all the threads in this legal forum as I want as much clarity as possible before I start attempting to sell, especially when it comes to doing outbound marketing.

I am particularly interested in gaining insight on the risk level when it comes to those grey-area domains that may or may not infringe on IP laws. It's not part of my strategy to deliberately go for trademarks and such, but at the same time I want to be prepared if I get caught out.

From what I understand, UDRP has global reach and if lost, will result in the loss of a domain. Therefore, the maximum downside risk is the loss of the initial investment, plus the hit to reputation of having the case published.

The scarier possibility seems to be the ACPA (Anti-Cybersquatting Protection Act) in which it's possible to be sued for many thousands of dollars in damages. This is a much more threatening downside risk obviously.

My question is, as ACPA appears to be part of US law, and with me being in the UK, does this mean I can forget about ACPA when it comes to risk assessment? And are there any additional regulations/laws I should consider?

Any advice would be great from those that know, thanks!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am not a lawyer ;) but:
A US company could in theory file a lawsuit against you.