IT.COM

Did I register an unsellable trademarked domain?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Newbie here. I just registered i/o/t/e/s/t. in (as IoT testing, or maybe IO Testing) without checking trademark issues first.
Now I see in trademarkia that there is one trademark for a chemical/pharmaceutical product, filled for the US as I understand.
Does that mean that any use for that domain, even in India and out of the area of industry the trademark is filled for, could generate legal problems for the domain owner?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am also a newbie. I think I have a few domains that will be similar to what you described. In those cases here is what I am hoping . . . If the company is big enough, and in my cases I think they will be, it will be more cost effective for them to buy the domain and have me sign a nondisclosure agreement versus going to court and litigating everything!

•••
Not necessarily. A given term can have multiple meanings. When it comes to intellectual property protection, the Trademark will describe the meaning and usage that is being protected. It's possible that you could have the same term but be using it in a different context with a different meaning.

•••
You are not the first one to face this dilemma. Do a search in this forum for "trademark" and you will get plenty of case studies to reflect on and learn from. Also read read and read before investing even a penny. Goodluck.

•••
Now I see in trademarkia that there is one trademark for a chemical/pharmaceutical product, filled for the US as I understand.

Does the company owning a trademark have trademark world-wide rights to the name, alternatively the rights for the use of the trademark extending to India ?

Last edited:
•••
Does the company owning a trademark have trademark world-wide rights to the name, alternatively the rights for the use of the trademark extending to India ?