IT.COM

discuss DewyLips.com My First ever Purchase in Domaining

NameSilo
Watch

Ayyan Malik

Established Member
Impact
I am a beginner in this domaining field. But i don't know why I purchased this domain DewyLips.com.... But my Heart supports me to buy. Let me know guys,
what have I done?
Give me support or suggestion for this domain. THanks

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hello new domainer!

I can see your thinking behind registering this domain name. Dewy Lips means 'wet look' on the lips. The problem is that "dewy skin" is the more commonplace term for this makeup trend, this is reflective with the search volume of 'dewy skin' being far higher.

The domain name itself is just OK, but it is a really good first try from you at hand registering. 99% better than what most domainers register for their first domain. I actually think this could have some possible value, as a brand of lipstick or such. So if I was a company in the makeup niche, looking for a brandable name to promote a new wet looking lipstick, I would choose something like Dewy Lips. I can think of similarly named products, such as 'baby lips' from Maybelline.

This is what I call an 'end user only domain'. It has no liquidity. You won't be reselling this to other domainers.

A couple of articles I found:

http://www.get-the-look.ca/article/makeup-trend-how-to-achieve-perfect-dewy-lips_a9509/1
https://www.skincare.com/article/7-liquid-lipsticks-for-a-dewy-pout

If this trend was to gain some traction you may have something that is more marketable. At this moment in time it is the sort of domain where you will take any half decent offer you can get.

Domains like this can be frustrating. They read well. Spell well. Are actually memorable. But there are no obvious buyers as of yet.

I wish you good luck in domaining and keep thinking real hard before registering and buying more domains. Really evaluate the possible commercial uses.