IT.COM

question Can a domain be change from Non-Premium to Premium status?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Can a domain be change from Non-Premium to Premium status?

• This poll is still running and the standings may change.
  • This poll is still running and the standings may change.

Can a domain be change from Non-Premium to Premium status?

Maybe you guys can answer that. I've done a lot of reading and couldn't find anything that says a domain cannot be changed to premium from non-premium. I'm not a lawyer, I just play one online, so maybe it's there and I'm just not seeing it.

RightSide said they have no plans to do anything like that, but didn't say that they couldn't change a domains status/classification. Kudos to them for at least saying something.

I started a "Call out to Registry Reps" thread, but they didn't want to answer this question.

Can the registry change a domain from Non-Premium to Premium. If the domain is unregistered I'm sure they can do it, but what about registered domains?

Not trying to start a The sky is falling thread, I just want an answer on this issue.
I agree that it would not be smart to do something like this, but can it be done?

Please debate this issue.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I believe it has happened here. There was a thread about how the registry changed the renewal from 20 to 500 so as to obtain the domain name back from the registrant.

Will post the link, if I find it.

•••
If the registries would put out a list of premium domains before launch, it would be harder for them to re-classify a domain that someone registered for a standard reg fee after launch.

Not saying they couldn't, just saying they would have a harder time justifying any reclassification.
There have been a couple reports of fishy things like this happening, but no one seems to be able to get to the bottom of the issue. The registries won't step in and clarify things either.