Dynadot

Best place to auction Namecheap domains

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Amphibia07

Established Member
Impact
Need some advice.

Planning to register about 10 domain names with Namecheap, since they appear to be among the cheapest registrars right now. Namecheap is currently running 8.88 usd promo for .com, incl. whois protection. Which looks nearly twice as cheap as GoDaddy (11.99+7.99). I have heard GoDaddy should be cheap but it doesn't look anything like it.

My question is about auctioning. I am relatively new to domaining, so maybe this sounds like a dumb question but do you pay any consideration to auctioning when registering domain. The domain names are not premium, like 4 letters, etc. So I am thinking GoDaddy's built-in auctioning feature would be an advantage, logistics or otherwise, if you have these domains on GoDaddy. Or there is no difference where they are registered?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Price shouldn't really be your first contributing factor. You should know how much your selling them for you also have an idea of who to. Auctions are to clear off domains a great domain a buyer will find you. If your going to register 10 names what does it matter when they all are worthless. If you plan on selling them for $20 then you make money I guess. I would rather spend a lot longer looking and pick up names so i can actually get paid for my time.

•••
Well I am not saying I am registering 10 random names, for the fun of it. I am researching these names
considerably. Still, the difference in registration prices is almost twice between gdaddy and namecheap. And I would like to spend conservatively at first, at least until I get the first sale, not sure if I will get any anyways. Seems to me like you are saying registration price should be of no concern :)

•••