IT.COM

Any tips for registering new technology names? Also, "tech" or "technology"?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
I'm completely new to domaining. I'm thinking about registering some names relating to a new/upcoming technology. Any tips?

The name of the technology is two words. Those two words are registered already, of course. However, I could add "tech" or a number of other words to the end relating to what it will be used for, like "movies" for instance. Is three words too much? Might these domains ever be worth anything?

I'm also wondering whether to use "tech" or "technology" in the name. Is one better than the other? Google returns 993,000,000 results for "technology" alone, and 608,000,000 for "tech." However, tech is shorter. Is there a simple rule here, or is it case specific.

Thanks in advance!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Today, I just bought 15-20 domains relating to "telesurgery" or "remote surgery" (including one of the rare instances where I'm comfortable buying .orgs)

First, understand your nomenclature. For example, in remote surgery, it's called "remote surgery" here in the US but more commonly "telesurgery" elsewhere. I had to buy both remotesurgery and telesurgery domains to hedge against one term being standardized over the other.

Understand your word variables. If you feel strongly enough to invest in a name, you should always buy the common variants. For example, telesurgery and telesurgical, singular and plural, etc.