Dynadot

Advice on best blog host

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Could you please post your thoughts on the best route for me to take with the following:

I want to do a blog that people can contribute to
May be also vote on, or score, other peoples contributions
I'd also like to have ads on my blog
It must look really cool and arty
My domain name is with godaddy at present
I have no html or web design knowledge

Who is the best to host such a business blog? How much should I pay to the host.

Thanks,
Jay

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
try dreamhost.com
great support and backend with one click installs for all your needs
go with wordpress - tons of themes out there to suit your style or hire a designer if your looking to spend $$$$ at 99designs.com

•••
Thanks littleubuntu.

Would I be able to put adds on the blog?
Is this combination better than wordpress/godaddy?
Do you have an example?

Cheers,
Jay

•••
Jay,

Wordpress is a highly customizable blogging engine. You can do basically whatever you like with it.

Dreamhost & Hostgator are both usually recommended for intro web hosting because of their excellent support, low price, and easy script installs.

Godaddy will be more restrictive and give you less control over you hosting, in my experience.

•••
Thanks guys, much appreciated. Rep added.

Jay

•••
Dreamhost and the like are all good hosts, but if your site gets popular, you'd be at risk of them closing your site down for overusing resources. Don't fall for the unlimited bandwidth trap... it only goes so far.

Best of luck in your search. :)

•••
You need to chose blog software which will be able to support everything you need. Then you will do the search for the blog application

•••
Don't fall for the unlimited bandwidth trap... it only goes so far.