IT.COM

A real newbie question

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
ok so im new to the game but i have spent like 72 straight hours filling a notebook full of domains that i want to buy and then i checked my bank balance. so i have to narrow the list of 5000 down to 5... my question is this:

i have found many examples of .coms being sold for anywhere form $850-$21,500 where the .net is available or the .info, or for the $21k one the .us is the only tld available. should i buy these other tlds if the .com is commanding a high enough price? or am i better of buying ie, a 2keyword .com that has 10,000+ exact match searches per month with a CPC of $2 or i have also found MANY one word .biz and .us domains as well.

of the 4 possibilities how do they rank? A. .net or.org or .info of a high dollar .com or B. .us of a super high dollar .com or C. keywordphrase.com or D. one word .biz or .us?

whoever answers this will be my hero.

thank you in advance.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Generally speaking, for purely resale purposes ... stick with the .COM's (in your example, "2keyword .com that has 10,000+ exact match searches per month with a CPC of $2"), IMHO. :yell:

PS. Excellent job doing the research and getting your list down to a handful of domains ... most new domainers absolutely KILL themselves with very bad Reg's and year upon years worth of costly :$: renewals! :guilty: :imho:

All the best!
-Jeff B-)

•••
Generally buy .com only. Ask yourself if anyone would really want to build a real business on this domain before buying it. That should be your main reason to invest in a domain. The number of search results, number of advertisers and rates for keywords are all secondary criterias.
There is a good long thread here about .net dropping. Read it. .Net is an excellent choice if you can build websites and understand SEO. But only buy really strong keywords in .net. I would not buy .info or .us.

•••