IT.COM

Why lose this domain, after I already won the auction

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

darishzao

Impact
Hello guys,
Recently I won an auction in "Dynadot" for a domain I really wanted for a project. But a day later I receive a e-mail telling me this :
The expired domain auction for ****.com has been cancelled because the original registrant has transferred the domain to another domain registrar.
If you’ve already sent payment, we’ll automatically credit it to your Dynadot account as account credit.

How and why can a registrar just transfer the domain I won to other registrar, I been wondering what is this about, and can I do something about it?

I am pretty new to this, so I am assuming is something I missed.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
In Dynadot expired auctions, there’s a grace period in which the previous owner can renew/extend/transfer to maintain control of the domain. If they don’t do so within the grace period (general 3-4 days), then Dynadot collects your money and transfers the domain to you. IME, the owner usually doesn’t renew, but this does happen from time to time.

•••
I suspected this to be the case, guess I shouldn't celebrate before time on this things.

Thanks Optixgroup.

•••
From my experience with Dynadot expired auctions, many quality domains get redeemed after the auction.

It is probably done by owners who are trying to gauge market value, or get interest in their domains.

Brad

Last edited:
•••
It is probably done by owners who are trying to gauge market value, or get interest in their domains.

^ Exactly this.

Also, I think the name gets added to everyone's watchlist if they've bid on it before it was renewed or transferred, so after the owner renews it, they can list it for sale at Dyna and I believe that everyone watching it will get pinged that it's available for sale.