Dynadot

Who decides a premium name

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

mirecart

Established Member
Impact
I've been buying domains for the past 3 years, and while I have not paid more than $150 for a single domain, I have sold some for $2000 and above. I have always found it intriguing as to what defines a premium name over one with value.

I was going through a number of my domains on name.com and noticed they have over a dozen noted by their system as being premium domains. I don't hold that opinion but I wanted to know what makes a domain premium, what or who if anyone sets the bar.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Good question.....Truth is there is no standard or prerequisite for labeling a domain as "premium"...For that reason, it has made for some interesting domain listings over the years..:xf.grin:

•••
•••
From https://www.name.com/support/articles/205934667-Purchasing-a-Premium-Domain

"Premium Domains work a little differently than normal domain purchases do. If you search for a domain at Name.com and it says the domain is "Premium," it means that someone owns it and is willing to sell the domain name for the price listed."

"
Expiring Domains
These are domain names that were not renewed by their registrant. It’s your chance to buy the domain before it’s deleted.

Premium Domains
These domains typically contain popular keywords and phrases, so they have premium pricing."

"
Name.com, unfortunately, does not assist nor guide with the resale of domain names, so users are unable to list domain names with Name.com directly for aftermarket sale.

However, users can utilize many of the online providers who allow aftermarket listings, and two examples recommended would be Sedo.com and Afternic.com. "

I think there is a difference between what name.com and what fellow domainers refer to as premium.
For domainers, they are attaching a value to the name. I do not believe it is the same case with name.com.