Dynadot

discuss Where to draw the line - Hold or drop

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I have some 20 names or so that I have been holding for 3 years. I believe in some of the names extremely, but none of them have received an offer or any interest from an end-user. Never marketed to domainers.
The names mostly comprise of the following:

Around 12 .COMs
Around 6 .CO
3 .NET

The point I am trying to understand is, when do you figure out whether to keep renewing a certain name or drop off and move onto new names?

What are the factors that can be considered when making such a decision, when I clearly have one indication that in the last 2 years, none of these names received an inquiry.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
It's a tough one to answer. There is no right or wrong answer.
You only learn with experience, and even then it is hard to know where to draw that line.

Brad

•••
lol .co

you drop after the first year! (if they dont sell

Do you enjoy ~$20 renewal fees? for ONE .co
Amazingly; .NET renewal price is twice .Com’s
(So .NET not out of the woods)

Without knowing the names;
Drop all the non-com’s IMO

Samer

Last edited:
•••
I have some 20 names or so that I have been holding for 3 years. I believe in some of the names extremely, but none of them have received an offer or any interest from an end-user. Never marketed to domainers.

Around 12 .COMs
Around 6 .CO
3 .NET

The point I am trying to understand is, when do you figure out whether to keep renewing a certain name or drop off and move onto new names?

What are the factors that can be considered when making such a decision, when I clearly have one indication that in the last 2 years, none of these names received an inquiry.

What do you use for your statistics?

The only real way to know anything is if you have some stats.
I track every hit on my domains, if a domain has even 2-3 views per year chances are someone was looking at it.