NameSilo

The best web design program?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I am currently building a website and I was wondering what the best, web design program is. At the moment I'm using Dreamweaver but I'm not too good at it.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Use PhotoShop, it is a pretty good program. :tu:

•••
I have photoshop so I use the two combined. Its doing its work its just that I was wondering if I could make my site look better than previous ones.

•••
I started off with Microsoft Frontpage (years back) as an HTML editor- its simplicity is amazing. Nowadays, I would recommend Macromedia Flash MX.

•••
I use Photoshop and ColdFusion Studio (even for PHP, ASP, Perl - aka HomeSite)

•••
mmmmmm notepad - or if you like pretty colours, code snippets and extensive attribute information - DW on code view.

As for making your site look better, have you tried using CSS and XHTML? it gives you much closer control over positioning and style than old-school html plus it makes your site more accessible.

Flash websites can look.. well... 'Flash' unfortunatly I am still learning the ropes of flash and haven't created a website in it yet, but the sites do look good (generally) you just need to be extra careful about accessibility issues - my main reason for learning flash is to be able to do things that it is great at - animation, games etc rather than whole websites which can have difficulties from a fuctional point of view. (it can be done right, but you just need to be aware of the problems such as SEO, mobile devices, loading times, speech or text only browsers etc.)

•••
Originally posted by Spirited
notepad - or if you like pretty colours, code snippets and extensive attribute information - DW on code view.

•••
Vicious Circle, did you have something to say? :P

•••
I still use notepad! LOL

•••