Dynadot

Tech question(s) about bots?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Chris2412

Established Member
Impact
I am a n00b developer and I would like to talk about bots and how they crawl a web page.

I tried searching keyword “bot” on the forum but I got nill, just a bunch of random results. I’m sure this is a thread covering this so a link provided will do just fine.

So, Google has “bots” that crawl your page. It looks for keywords, phrases, ect for cataloging purposes. Which is good, because you want your website cataloged in their search engine.

But there are other kind of bots, too. Yes?

Some of these bots are evil pawns sent out to do- what exactly?

Eat your bandwidth?

I read a simple php code a year or two ago, that basically makes bot’s sleep (or time out).

I am not even close to HTML 5 yet so perhaps I am getting way ahead of myself.

There’s no harm in asking. Perhaps I can bump this thread as I get more knowledge and have additional questions regarding coding.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
If you're trying to be a designer, then you definitely don't need to know this!

•••
I could ask you, "why not"... but then I would get scolded again.

•••
A designer would typically learn front end technologies. Javascript and CSS mostly.

•••
Knowledge is power, I am a bit of a nut.

When I took courses in college I was too busy starring at the brunette two terminals down to actually learn anything (I'm not really a blonde gal type of guy).

The whole education system is bollocks, anyways. If you want something, you go out and learn it for yourself.

I know nothing about bots and I wanted to talk about it. No harm, intended.

I will never pretend to be something I'm not.

Worst case scenario you all make fun of me, so what? At least I am not purchasing WP templates like most of these people (nothing wrong with that, just saying).

I want to create something for myself. I want to be an architect.