Dynadot

Tech question(s) about bots?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Chris2412

Established Member
Impact
I am a n00b developer and I would like to talk about bots and how they crawl a web page.

I tried searching keyword “bot” on the forum but I got nill, just a bunch of random results. I’m sure this is a thread covering this so a link provided will do just fine.

So, Google has “bots” that crawl your page. It looks for keywords, phrases, ect for cataloging purposes. Which is good, because you want your website cataloged in their search engine.

But there are other kind of bots, too. Yes?

Some of these bots are evil pawns sent out to do- what exactly?

Eat your bandwidth?

I read a simple php code a year or two ago, that basically makes bot’s sleep (or time out).

I am not even close to HTML 5 yet so perhaps I am getting way ahead of myself.

There’s no harm in asking. Perhaps I can bump this thread as I get more knowledge and have additional questions regarding coding.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
(NP is a great forum but focuses on a very different area of expertise than what you're asking about - have you tried googling it ;)?)

Grab email addresses for spam lists
Leave Referrer spam
Scan for hackable vulnerabilities in your site code
Scrape your site content to use it elsewhere
Leave comment spam

There are also "badly behaved" bots which may or may not be a malicious application but
who disobey robots.txt directives. Or crawl your site so frequently and so aggressively that they eat bandwidth and affect performance.

To name a few ...

(BTW, Google, Bing, etc. look at a LOT more than just keywords and phrases.)

Last edited:
•••
Worse offender, once they find your blog/site?
Baidu!

•••
enlytend, absolutely I "binged it"... Majority of the results in the search were from persons trying to actually create bots, which is a scary thing.

I tried to post my question in the proper forum.