NameSilo

Snack brand TM violation?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Joe N

Top Member
Impact
Just put in an order for the following at GD closeouts after doing some reading and trademark searching:

K/e/t/t/l/e/C/h/i/p dot com

Seems as though the company that you would expect to own it has let it expire.

I'm no lawyer, but my understanding is that the "kettle" term, even when applied to this snack food, is considered generic in nature. Furthermore, the only active trademark I found registered to them was for their logo.

Would appreciate some extra opinions.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I had noticed that domain too and had to do a double take... You are right, it looks as if it was owned by the same folks who own KettleChips dot com (plural version). Archive shows the same content on both the singular and plural websites. I decided to pass on bidding, as I expect it will be renewed before it truly goes into Pending Delete. You're right too that the TMs seem a little thin on the ground, but I'm sure that wouldn't stop the parent Kettle Co coming after anyone using that domain. Not legal advice, just my thoughts...

•••
I had noticed that domain too and had to do a double take... You are right, it looks as if it was owned by the same folks who own KettleChips dot com (plural version). Archive shows the same content on both the singular and plural websites. I decided to pass on bidding, as I expect it will be renewed before it truly goes into Pending Delete. You're right too that the TMs seem a little thin on the ground, but I'm sure that wouldn't stop the parent Kettle Co coming after anyone using that domain. Not legal advice, just my thoughts...

Thanks. Appreciate the opinion.

I think that once a name hits GD Closeouts, it's too late for the previous owner to renew. So either they no longer wanted it, or someone made a boo-boo.

•••