What does everyone think about this idea?
The upvote and downvote buttons are disabled until you have at least 1 public quick reply (e.g., Thanks or Disagree). If you remove all of your public quick replies, then your votes are removed upon removing your last quick reply.
Moving forward, this would mean that everyone who adds or removes points from a post would be represented by at least 1 public quick reply.
Would that be a better solution?
Note: This change would not be retroactive (i.e., it would not affect points that were already added/removed prior to this new feature).