IT.COM

question New company wants to buy my old domain name.

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

namexf

Established Member
Impact
Hi guys.
I am new to this.
I will try to simplify.
I own a .com domain name from many many years. Its been parked all this time.
Now a new company has contacted me and they want to buy it from me.
This company's name is the same as my domain name. And they have recently registered a local domain
with that name. But they are interested on buying the .com version (from me).
The key point is that I registered the domain name before this company even existed with this name.

Is there a risk that they could forcefully take it away from me if I try to negotiate a price that it is too high?

I am open to sell it but I would like to know how much can I ask.

Thanks in advance.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Welcome to NamePros @namexf

Your question is essentially legal re UDRP or URS possibility, as well as about selling, so you might want to consider posting in legal section.

Only a legal expert can provide definitive advice, so don't depend much on opinions of people like me. Here are my reflections..
  • Remember that a company can have rights to a name established through use prior to the date of formal registration. It is good you had name prior to TM registration but don't overly depend on that.
  • As others mentioned make sure no use of name in any way related to TM holder - like no parking that might have links to them.
  • A TM is in general awarded in a use category. Not clear to me how general purpose name is.
Bob

•••
Just make sure you don't show any ads relating to them or anything that would confuse consumers to think you are them.

•••

They can try to take your name but its not likely they would succeed. As someone said above, now is the time to make sure any monetization of the name would not cause a conflict with what they sell or offer.