Dynadot

Is There a Trick to Getting Good Bids on Flippa?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

goldey

Established Member
Impact
Hi -- I've been listing domains on Flippa for three years now, and nobody bids more than just a few dollars. Even when I pay extra for the upgrades, the bids I get are really pathetic. I had a bid of $3128 last week on MoneySpeaks.com, but I cannot contact the guy, he's not even reading my messages. So that was a phony. When Cats.com was up to $126,000 with a reserve of $710,000 last week, I listed my domain BeautifulCats.com at a fraction of the price, and the highest bid was only $65. I know that 1 word is always better than 2, but come on, $710,000 better?? BeautifulCats.com says "almost" the same thing as Cats.com for a fraction of the price. I have some excellent domains -- I even own TheGreatestSiteInTheWorld.com -- how can I attract bids that are not so pathetic? Is there a trick to it? Some domains there that I think are really dumb get high bids -- what do they have that I don't have? All my domains are at least 12-17 years old, and never used. I bought them just as investments. Or should I forget Flippa and list them elsewhere? I am open to all advice .... thanks!

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Not to be crass, but beautifulcats.com isn't even in the same galaxy as cats.com. In terms of advice, your domains aren't generic enough to thrive on flippa. I would just put them on afternic, sedo, etc and let offers come in that way. Only certain types of domains do best in auctions

•••
Honestly, there are no tricks or gimmicks. Good names always attract good bids. and as casey pointed out, beatifulcats is no where near as good as cats.com. Having said this, you can always pay the $49 for their market place home page listings for a better exposure.

•••