NameSilo
Watch
Status
Not open for further replies.

Domain Fish

Established Member
Impact
Hi Guys,

I have just joined the community, so a complete novice. I have a domain portfolio that I bought years ago but never did much with most of it. I am a tech founder, but I have always loved domains.

I always struggle with valuation, so what do you guys think would be the value of inflated.com? (I am genuinely mostly curious rather than advertising to sell it)

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi @Tariq Aris! Welcome to NamePros.

I see that this domain name was last publicly sold for $4,600 in 2008. I assume that's when you acquired it?

My personal opinion is that this domain name may struggle to sell to an end user for a significant multiple of this purchase price.

At first glance, one would think it should have a lot of value (due to the implied tie-in to the financial industry), but a little more investigation reveals that this name doesn't seem to be developed in any other major extensions. Additionally, when searching the term on Google, I was hard-pressed to find any companies that brand themselves using the word "inflated". Maybe there are some negative connotation issues at play here?

As much as the above is not encouraging, I do believe the name still has at least as much value as what you paid in 2008, as I suspect there are some investors who would be willing to pay $5k for a single word .com name like this.

To the right end user, I think the name could fetch up to mid five figures due to the single word strength of the term. Does that end user exist? I'm skeptical. And I think that's the largest impediment to selling this one.

In the years you've owned the name, has it received some offers?

•••