NameSilo

IDN translation

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
I am just getting into the domain game. I was just wondering how I can convert the words I am interested in, into the native language or code or whatever so I can put it into the typein bar on a regeistrar to see if it is avaliable?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Many registrars are IDN compatible so you can just input the unicode directly into the search bar. - Dynadot, Domainsite, Moniker.

Dynadot and Domainsite will also show the punycode after you do a search. Check it out.

•••
unicode?

Could you tell me what unicode is? And how I find out the unicode for a word?
thanks

•••
Unicode is the native representation - for example - 東京 is in unicode. The punycode representation of 東京 would be xn--1lqs71d. From a domain perspective xn--1lqs71d.com is equivalent to 東京.com.

For more info on unicode see Wikipedia

•••
I guess my problem is I don't know what that chinese symbol means. How would I figure that out? I guess what I am trying to do is come up with english words or phrases. Convert them to the chinese format or french or whatever. In puny code I guess. and then put it in and see if its avalible. I have really know Idea how to do that. And help would be greatly appreciated

•••
Sounds like you are looking for a translator or dictionary. There are various ones around the web - do a Google search for the specific language you're targeting.

Here are a few to get you started:

Chinese - mdbg.net

Japanese - Jim Breen's Dictionary

Various - Google language Tools

Now, it's not quite as simple as seeing if a translated word or phrase is available and registering it. You need to make sure it's the correct translation and the most used version. You also need to check if that term is popular in the language you're looking. All these things take some work - luckily there are plenty of tools available online that can help.