IT.COM

How do you stop spam emails from DomainsByProxy??

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

alien51

Take Me To Your LeaderTop Member
Impact
This is my first time to use DomainsByProxy from Godaddy, and i am being bombarded by tons upon megatons of spam emails from domainer scumbags.

The spam email goes something like this:

"I see that you own ExoticToilet.com, a domain similar to yours SepticTank.com is about to expire at Godaddy. If you want, we can get this domain for you so you can have all the sh*t in your domain collection. Click the link below. Hurry, this is a limited offer."

My problem with DomainsByProxy, it uses your domain name as the username for the proxy email address. So, your displayed registrant email becomes: [email protected]. So what the scumbag human bot does is get all the expiring domains at Godaddy, then let the software substitute all the harvested domain names that are similar to the expiring one, then simply adding "@domainsbyproxy.com"... and voila, you get spammed without much effort.

This is unlike with WhoisGuard used by Namecheap, where your registrant email is some random characters you can change anytime you want.

With DomainsByProxy, there seems to be no way of changing this?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am also receiving piles of spam email but in another manner, even though I am using DomainsByProxy. I own the .info version of a .com that is apparently prepped for sale. I have been getting at least daily emails for the past two weeks from some company explaining to me how to acquire it and the wonderful opportunity I have. After a few I clicked unsubscribe, however they have kept coming. I thought DomainsByProxy would help alleviate problems such as this. Since then I have very well considered actually deleting this domain because it is so annoying and have already removed private registration from most of my domains.

•••