NameSilo

advice Help...domain already registered.. what to do?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

sarah merc

Impact
hi, i am new to this whole domain market. I have a specific domain that i want but not available. what steps do i take to get the domain?? any advice? thanks

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Look at the WHOIS info and send an email to the current owner.

•••
Look at the WHOIS info and send an email to the current owner.
to dominic belly, i have tried but there is no answer its been almost 3 weeks. I don't want to tell them my budget they will increase the price, or should i tell them?

•••
If they dont reply it could mean the domain is not for sale

•••
Hey Sarah

Something to consider here, assuming you want the particular domain as it is related to your business? Now, let say the domain your want is yourbusiness.com and it's taken, let say ur budget is $2500 for the domain. Now what you should ask yourself is, what would be more beneficial to your business:

1.) getting the .com domain and spending $2500

OR

2.) get the same domain in a .net or country specific TLD or a relevant new TLD and spending the $2500 on a marketing campaign instead.

There is no right or wrong answer but the type of business you are in will determine which option might be best option for you.

•••
If the domain is developed than may not be for sale, but you can try reaching them.
You can also consider other TLDs i.e. .net, .org / .online, .site / ccTLDs (.co, .de, etc)

•••
1) Search all the marketplaces (GoDaddy, Flippa, Afternic, Sedo, etc.), it might be listed.

2) If that doesn't work, you can try backordering it with something like Namejet.com.

3) Finally (if you're desperate enough), you can call/visit the person, but I wouldn't really recommend it...