IT.COM

advice Finding My Feet

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Furn25

Impact
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to domaining and I'm trying to find my feet. I have to say that the discussions on here are very useful.

I have a number of domain names which I have registered, some of which I think may hold decent value (although I have no actual basis for that belief), while others made me kick myself seconds after registering because I just know they were stupid buys.

I have a lot of questions but I suppose the main thing I'm struggling with is trying to sift out the value in my list of names. I've come to realise that the price suggestion tool on Sedo may not be the most reliable guide? maybe I'm wrong. Also, Estibot and Domainindex are kicking all sorts of figures at me. I won't list the names that I think are good on this thread unless someone wants me to (as thats probably more appropriate for the appraisal forum?). But anyway, I've been going back and forth setting 'buy now' prices only to go back a few hours later and change it back to 'make an offer' because I don't want to sell a potentially valuable name for buttons. Is experience the only answer to this or are there any shortcuts or indicators I should look out for?

Another thing I'm struggling with is how to create exposure for my domain names - should I spend the money to put them into a promoted auction or is patience the order of the day here? Is it worth approaching businesses directly to either buy or rent the domain? and even on this topic surely renting the domain would involve complex contractual agreements and all the rest of it?

Anyway I feel like I'm putting too many questions in one post although I do have many more.

Any advice to get me going would really be appreciated!

Thanks.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am also fairly new so I haven't figured out everything yet, but I have learnt the following things: