IT.COM

advice DropCatch Backorders

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Junglist101

Established Member
Impact
I've never used DropCatch before until yesterday. I had a long browse through some keywords I typed in, and discovered 2 names I really liked. One of them had an Estibot appraisal over a little over $2k, and the second domain over $30k!
I put down the $59 backorder, and they are set to drop in 2-3 days. But this seems too good to be true, what is the likelihood that there will be no other competition for these names, and how are your experiences with grabbing decent names there on backorder?

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
The $30K one will surely go to auction. I can say that even without knowing the name. On the second one, hard to say without knowing what it is. Since you are putting $59, you of course have a better chance than using the backorder club, but still, the competition is hard with these public auction backorders.

•••
The chances are very nearly if not 0. These days, I would say it is impossible to be the sole backorderer of an obviously good name. Thousands of people sift through drop lists and a lot of them filter by estibot valuation. (btw a $30k estibot evaluation doesn't necessarily mean that the name is great, but it is likely to be great. This is why people use estibot to filter domains, rather than judge the values of the names themselves).

I've tried it before. I've skipped the obvious 4Ls, one words etc. and went for two worders which don't come on top of ANY filters (such as TLDs regged, monthly searches, evaluation, age etc.) but they ALL inevitably go to auction and sell for hundreds.

I can only conclude that trying to snatch good names for cheap via dropcatch is a futile effort.

•••