Domain Empire

Could domain name .eco be a force for environmental change?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Ranked as a top new domain name, will .eco improve corporate sustainability performance or become the digital version of corporate greenwash?

Greenwash. Some would argue it happens all the time. Indeed, as a CSR professional I have been accused of aiding and abetting greenwash myself. I like to think otherwise, but I can see why people hold those views, when companies seem to do good with one hand and bad with the other.

Imagine what people will think when they see those same companies with a website that ends with .eco. It could well be happening by next year but by working together, the global environmental community could ensure .eco is not greenwash. Instead it can become a vehicle for improving corporate sustainability performance.

In June, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), the organisation that runs the Internet, announced that 1,910 different companies had applied to run 1,410 new top-level domain names (those website suffixes like .com). Sometimes these are companies aiming to protect their brand name such as .apple and .google (which is also applying for .earth), while others include geographic domains such as .scot. When the winning companies start selling these next year, we will see what has been described as the digital equivalent of the 19th century American landgrab.

Read More
Courtesy of: Adam Garfunkel @ Guardian.co.uk

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I can't wait for .eco, I mean how could we live without this thing :sick:

:bah:

•••
I fear that .eco will suffer a similar fate
to all the other "we're about something cool
and trendy" TLD's.

On a slightly more political note, now that
the Global Warming/Carbon Tax balloon has well
and truly been deflated, I can't see there being
many takers at all for the .eco extension.

•••