NameSilo

Can newcomers to domaining still make it realistically?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

dotgold

Established Member
Impact
For people entering the domaining world, can they actually make a living buying/selling seeing how things are so competitive and scarce?

Are their any examples of people who recently got into domaining and are doing very well? What sort of investment did they make?

Thanks!

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
15 years down the line, you will say - "Wish I had started domaining in 2017"

•••
Thats a good question but complicated to answer.

The industry as a whole is great. Being realistic is important in any type of business.

Like any industry, there are part-timers, full-timers, failures and superstars. Too many variables to generalize.

•••
I am new comer and i started learning domaining from jan 2017 . Most of us think at first this is some kind of lottery, then we fell for keywords , we don't bother about extension . we don't bother about matching extension to language . We are impatient, we think today we bought domain and tomorrow it will fetch 1 million. We think our domain is best in the world, no matter how much crap is that . we are not ready to learn. we think we are going to become millionaire overnight.

Those who will overcome these obstacles. Congratulation your domaning career is started and i guarantee you will do good in future.

•••
The first thing you need to know if you want to make it is that most people don't.

I'm not saying this because I've interviewed/talked to a lot of domainers necessarily, but because by now I've put in hundreds of hours (probably more) going over domain expiration list and reviewing auction lists. What all that information I've learned from that has told me is that:

Most people have registered and still register horrible domains!