IT.COM

question Am I in Trouble? (UDRP trademark question)

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

karamakate

Established Member
Impact
Hello fellow domainers,

I'm a kind of newbie domainer who wrote his own domain scanning software.

While analyzing the potential of new gTLDs, I thought I've found a gold mine! And quickly hand registered around 20 domains (brandname.cafe) which costed to me aproximately 100$.

I thought I would sell those names to the related companies, and make some bucks...

Many of them globally known big brands which located in USA and EU. Some of them are just small local brands.
I really really didn't know the UDRP thing before, it is totally my bad that I didn't make a proper research about domaining market & rules.

The big brands have revenues like; €5.5 billion, €4.5 billion, €4.9 billion... (you get the idea)

So, my questions are;
  1. Am I in big trouble right now?
  2. Is UDRP applies to all kind of TLDs?
  3. If this is a serious issue; what should I do without getting into any problem?
  4. Since they're registered just a week ago, is it possible to cancel registrations, return those domains and have a refund?
  5. Or should I approach to respective companies and offer them to transfer the domains for free?

Probably important details:
  • I didn't park any of those domains or put any page of information. They don't even have a proper NS settings, no name resolve at all.
  • I haven't enter full details for the whois data, only wrote my official name. And all domains have whois privacy protection.
  • I'm located in Turkey, I've Turkish citizenship. Turkey is a member of WIPO since 1976.
Hope to have some feedback.

Thank you.

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Yeah, ask your registrar to delete the names for you. You probably wont get a refund on these names unless you can arrange something with the registrar. Take it as a lesson and move on. Stay away from company names.

•••