IT.COM

advice After answering price inquiry, how to back it up?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

DeeJay23

Established Member
Impact
Hi All,

I've been doing outbound for almost 2 months now. Most responses are, of course, on the negative. But there are about five or six who's asking if how much the price of the domain is.

Now, my question is, after the client asks "how much does it cost?", how do you answer that question that on your experience/s worked? How do you back it up? I usually just answer, "Hi <client>! I'm looking for $<priceHere> for this domain name."

One answered "We can't have a deal right now because <reason here>. But please keep me posted after several months."

About 3 answered "no thanks" and I just answered it like "I understand. Please feel free to message me if you changed your mind or you have any offer in mind."

Then the rest did not respond at all after the price answer.

Thanks,

Deejay

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Try reducing the price by a small margin. Depending on the domain name and the industry, the quoted price might be too high!

•••
how do you answer that question that on your experience/s worked? How do you back it up?

Outbound is hard no matter what or how good the name is. In my experience, the sale must be made prior to the price...meaning I present the supporting data prior to them seeing/hearing the price.

You have to create desire before dropping the price hammer.

•••
Include your asking price on your outbound email. This saves all the time wasting in the first place. Take the time to understand each business your approaching and the contact you have identified and word the opening email appropriately.

This approach has always given me the best response rate but, it takes time

•••
Try reducing the price by a small margin. Depending on the domain name and the industry, the quoted price might be too high!