IT.COM

debate Why aged domain are so pricey?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

Goodend

Established Member
Impact
Hi all,

I am new to the world of domain but I know SEO quite well. Can you please tell me why aged domain are so pricey? I mean I understand great brandable, pronounceable names, but what if I registered crap?! It's just aged crap. Am I right? Can an expert share his thoughts on that?

Thanks!

Francesco

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
It is easier to sell advertising on aged domains, than new domains, so they are pricier

•••
This is my take.

Age does not make quality (as someone else already said) BUT years ago it was possible and easier to hand register GREAT domains (and by great I mean great...whiskey, cars, moon etc). If those domains are still in the hands of investors (aka domainers) they would have renewed them for the past 10-20 years because who with some sanity left would drop a name like that?

Then there are those names that the domainer THINKS have value and he keeps renewing them...they could simply be crap.

Then there are the old school domainers who think that age means quality (mainly referred to emds..once again old school) when there are indeed much more successful (imo) domainers & marketplaces who focus on brandables (and yes, that is a broad term). Many register names and sell them for nice amounts in a time frame that goes from a week to a few years.

P.S. Do not let anyone fool you and convince you that any random non emd is a brandable because it is not!

•••
Sorry Rhakim, I don't think that if you regularly renew crap then just the fact of renewing it makes any better to the domain.

Goodend, you are correct , Regularly renewing crap does not make any better to the domain. My comment was "because of the quality, the owner tend to regularly renew" (for quality domains the owner will tend to renew for years).

•••
Thats what I said -"quality of backlinks"