NameSilo

What's An Affiliate Newbie To Do?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Ok, after years and years of promising myself I'd get into this, I'm finally ready to dip my tootsies into the world affiliates. I've been doing the AdSense thing quite successfully for the past four years. But I don't like having all my eggs in one basket.

So I applied to various affiliate networks, and now it's time to start putting together some ads for my pages, but I'm finding the whole thing rather daunting. Is there a place one can go to learn (from the beginning, in words of two syllables or less) how to do this? I spent a long time trying to get ONE skyscraper ad out of Performics, and couldn't get it to work properly no matter what I did (and I think under normal circumstances I'm not usually entirely clueless) Similar attempts with CJ, Pepperjam, NeverBlue and others have also not gone well.

I have the sites. I have the traffic (50-70K uniques per day at peak). I'm #1 in Google, Yahoo, & MSN for most search terms having to do with my primary site, and the local TV station even runs free television ads for a webpage that redirects to my site. Plus lots of free newspaper stories and website links. You'd think they'd be beating down my doors to make it easy for me.

But they're not. And I'm confused and disoriented.

So how do I get started? Or is this too much of a newbie subject to even be addressed here? (I normally hang out in the parking forum)

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Are you looking to learn PPC to market affiliate products? Or just place affiliate links/banners on your existing sites?

•••