Dynadot

What happened with GoDaddy Auction ?

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

GeorgeQuang

Established Member
Impact
Hi guys, I'm a newbie and i started to buy names on Godaddy auction 2 months ago.
Then this is the situation what happened too much times to me.
I bought a domain on Godaddy Expired Auction, then followed a domain name. When the auction just had 10 seconds left, i bid it. And it was automatic bid immediately from other guys. The detail of bids is as below :
Comment:
2017/03/08 09:38 AM (PST) 2017/03/08 09:50 AM (PST) Bidder 2 $60
Comment: Automatic Bid
2017/03/08 09:38 AM (PST) 2017/03/08 09:50 AM (PST) Bidder 3 $55
Comment:
2017/03/08 09:38 AM (PST) 2017/03/08 09:50 AM (PST) Bidder 2 $17
Comment: Automatic Bid
2017/03/08 09:38 AM (PST) 2017/03/08 09:50 AM (PST) My Bid $12
Comment:
So how can they do it ? Did they use proxy-bid, other softwares or Godaddy Multi-bid system ?
And if i didn't bid it, would they get it with 12$ fee ?

Last edited:
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
Hi George, the bids that are labelled "automatic bid" were done via proxy from bidder 2. It looks like there was also a 3rd bidder that took bidder 2 up to $60, again by proxy. Bidder 3 put their max bid of $55 in but Bidder 2 had a proxy of at least $60 so the bids jumped up to that amount.

If I'm missing the point or you're confused about something else please feel free to reach out to myself or @Joe Styler

•••
Dear Paul, thanks so much for your kindly answer. But i'm wondering that if i didn't bid, would the system automatically bid it for Buyer 2 or Buyer 3 or they would get it for $12 ? When i bid that domain, the auction just had 10 seconds left.
I tried to bid through Multi-bid system, but once i set the max bid price, the system automatic bid 12$ immediately, not at the end of the auction.

•••